@ini_set( 'upload_max_size' , '64M' ); @ini_set( 'post_max_size', '64M'); @ini_set( 'max_execution_time', '300' );

The University of the Philippines Cebu proudly recognizes exceptional individuals for their
outstanding contributions and achievements to the institution in the recent Gawad Chancellor

On December 15, 2023, the Gawad Chancellor 2023 Awards was held at the UP Cebu
Performing Arts Hall, honoring the hard work and exemplary performance of various faculty,
staff, and administration members. A distinguished committee headed by the College of Social
Sciences Dean, Atty. Francis Michael C. Abad, meticulously reviewed and screened the
nominees based on approved comprehensive guidelines and criteria.

Here are your Gawad Chancellor 2023 Awardees

Outstanding Faculty for Professor – Mary Joyce L. Flores

Prof. Mary Joyce Flores is a UP alumni through and through as she earned her bachelor’s
degree from UP Diliman and her master’s and doctorate in Environmental Science from UP Los
Baños. Her resume includes achievements in teaching and research, with international
publication awards, a One UP Professorial Chair Award, faculty grant awards, and a Gawad
Dekana Most Outstanding Associate Professor award attached to her name. Prof. Flores has
been involved in public service and extension activities outside and within the university.

Outstanding Faculty for Associate Professor – Brisneve Edullantes

Dr. Brisneve Edullantes is an Associate Professor with expertise in Environmental Biology. He
has taught several innovative courses, including Biological Systems Analysis and Environmental
Change Biology. Consistently garnering high teaching ratings, he has actively mentored both
undergraduate and graduate students in conducting scientific research. Dr. Edullantes
specializes in microalgal ecophysiology and climate change ecology, as evidenced by his
publications in reputable journals and presentations at both local and international conferences. His commitment to teaching, research, and public service is further highlighted by the grants and awards he has received.

Outstanding Faculty for Assistant Professor – Noe John Joseph E. Sacramento

Asst. Prof. Noe John Joseph E. Sacramento, Ph.D. Cand. specializes in Critical Policy Studies,
which includes an interest in narratives, emotions, and deliberations. He has been with the
political science program for six years. 3Asst. Prof. Sacramento is currently leading the adoption
and institution of the Master of Public Affairs program that will complement the needs of the
Visayas-Mindanao regions, specifically of the Sugbuanon community. His passion for bringing in
progressive and advanced pedagogical techniques, curriculum, and educational approach will
surely bring the program and the college to greater heights.

Outstanding Administrative Staff (SG 3-10) – Analy C. Bongo

Ms. Analy Crystal-Bongo is an administrative personnel of the College of Social Sciences. She
has served the University since June 2012. Her area of responsibility includes the affairs under
the Office of the Dean of the College and the two baccalaureate degree program offerings,
namely, BA in Psychology and BA in Political Science. Ms. Analy’s commitment to public
service and contribution to the growth of the College of Social Sciences is an actual
demonstration of honor and excellence in the service of the people.

Outstanding REPS – Cora Jane Lawas

Ms. Cora Jane Lawas is a university researcher and is currently the Central Visayas Studies
Center director. She was a recipient of the University of the Philippines Cebu Creative Work and
Research Grant. She implemented remote sensing applications for natural resource
assessments in both aquatic and terrestrial environments. Ms. Cora is also a lecturer at UP
Cebu Department of Biology and Environmental Science teaching GIS and Remote Sensing
to Master of Science in Environmental Studies students from 2017 to 2023.

Outstanding Achievement in Research – Fleurdeliz Maglangit

Dr. Fleurdeliz Maglangit is an accomplished Associate Professor in Chemistry specializing in
Natural Products research. With a keen interest and passion for discovering novel bioactive
compounds from natural resources, including plants, microbes, and insects, Dr. Maglangit has
emerged as a leader in the field, contributing significantly to both academia and the broader
scientific community.

Outstanding Achievement in Creative Work – Dennis E. Montera

Dennis E. Montera, Ph.D. is a Full Professor in the Fine Arts-Studio Arts program of the College
of Communication, Art, and Design. He has brought honor to the university as a multi-awarded
artist and educator including recognitions as a Gawad Dekana, three-time Gawad Tsanselor,
and an Artist II – Arts Productivity System Award in 25 years of service. His immense body of
creative work exhibitions has been featured in leading art galleries, art fairs, and biennales
across the country and internationally. Dr. Montera is also active in cultural community service
as a founding member of the Creative Cebu Council, Inc. and an elected Head of the National
Committee on Visual Arts (2023-2025) of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts.

Outstanding Achievement in Public Service – Ana Leah D. Cuizon

Dr. Ana Leah D. Cuizon is an Assistant Professor from the Political Science Program, College of
Social Sciences, University of the Philippines Cebu. As an Associate Member of the National
Research Council of the Philippines Division 1-Governmental, Educational and International
Policies, she is engaged with research consultancy for both private and public agencies as well
as research mentoring in undergraduate and graduate studies. She is passionately driven to the establishment of various education initiatives as ably reflected in her commitment to the
institution of the Center for Good Governance and Development (CGGD) of the Political
Science Program in line with her thrust for good governance, collaboration, multi-sectoral
engagement, and community service for the Filipino community at large.

Outstanding Innovative Service by a Faculty Administrator – Palmy Pe-

Palmy Pe-Tudtud earned her Master of Creative Industries major in Creative Production and
Arts Management with distinction from Queensland University of Technology (QUT) in Australia
after completing her Bachelor’s Degree in Fine Arts majoring in Painting from the University of
the Philippines Cebu. As a visual artist, she has mounted solo exhibitions and participated in
more than fifty group shows in the Philippines and abroad. In 2015, she led a group of faculty
members from the UP Cebu Fine Arts Product Design Program to propose to the Department of
Trade and Industry the establishment of a Fabrication Laboratory, and in 2016, the first FabLab
opened in Cebu. Currently, Ms. Palmy is a member of the Commission on Higher Education
(CHED) Regional Quality Assessment Team (RQAT) for the Fine Arts Program.

The Gawad Chancellor 2023 Awardees, with their outstanding contributions to research,
creative work, and public service, represent the university’s motto of honor and excellence.
Their commitment to excellence brings inspiration to the UP Cebu community and beyond.